2011 Recap

 

I was adventuring around the interweb tonight, reading random blogs and all that wonderful stuff when I realized a common theme. A lot of bloggers have been answering questions about the past year so that they can reflect on what they have overcome, what they have accomplished, and what they maybe didn’t accomplish. Then they answered another set of questions about the upcoming year. What they want to accomplish, their goals and need I say it “resolutions” (I don’t fully believe in resolutions but I’ll explain that later).

All this got me thinking about my past year, and how different my life is today, compared to one year ago. I don’t want to answer the list of questions I read because honestly for most of the questions I thought about what my answers would be and most of them would have been the generic typical answers. I do however want to take a few moments to reflect on 2011.

2011 tested me in so many different ways, which I am really thankful for. I’ve learned so much about myself this year. I put myself in a rather low place  in 2010/2011. I didn’t have much going on (I wasn’t in school, I didn’t work, and I spent my days doing a lot of nothing), I was dealing with a relationship roller coaster, and most of all I wasn’t proud of anything I was doing. Then I decided enough is enough, and I made myself fix things.

Throughout the year I accomplished things I’ve never done before, I’ve become so much more independent, I’ve developed a new confidence in myself, and I’ve learned that my life can be anything I want it to be but I will be the only one to make it happen. I can honestly say now that I’m proud of myself, who I am, where I am, and where I want to be. I don’t have it all figured out yet, but I have faith in myself that I will continue to make my life amazing.

I would have never gotten through all the obstacles without my amazing friends and family. I have a great support system (which I have mentioned over and over throughout my blog but it’s so true). You can’t really ever fall completely if you have people like them holding you up :) I love you all!

Adios 2011 .. I more than excited for 2012!

Comments

  1. Great post, you are so inspiring! You have come a long way from where you used to be Kayla, I am so proud of you for being able to want to be yourself and to want to be the best “self” you can possibly be. I admire your strength. You are an amazing woman.
    Love ya!!

Leave a Reply

